In Ondo, Lucky Aiyedatiwa was proclaimed the winner of the APC governorship primaries.

In the midst of criticism regarding the way the All Progressives Congress (APC) conducted its primaries in Ondo State, Gov. Lucky Aiyedatiwa was proclaimed the winner early on Monday morning.

Usman Ododo, the governor of Kogi state and chairman of the party’s primary election committee for Ondo State, said that Aiyedatiwa was the winner because she had met all legal requirements and received the most votes.

171,922 party members were revalidated to vote in 203 wards throughout the state’s 18 local government areas, according to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

Aiyedatiwa defeated Mr. Mayowa Akinfolarin, who had 15,343 of the 95,178 legitimate votes counted, with 48,569 votes, according to Ododo.

With 14,195 votes, Mr. Olusola Oke, SAN, came in third place.

The head of the election committee said that Oke won in one local government area while Aiyedatiwa won in 16 of the state’s 18 local government areas.

He claimed that because of the pervasive violence and threat to lives, voting was not held in the Ifedore Local Government Area.

Ododo praised the bravery and tenacity of every party member who took part in the exercise, characterizing the primary election as peaceful.

The real job has only just begun, he declared, adding that the candidates and their backers must not let the primary election results separate them.

He thinks there’s no reason to leave the celebration.

In order to emerge from the ensuing political contests stronger and more united, the party chairman urged the members to stick together.

According to NAN, the party decided to hold the primary in a straightforward manner on Saturday.

However, a rerun in all 13 wards of the state’s Okitipupa Local Government Area was mandated on Sunday due to various anomalies.

Previously, a few candidates had accused the primary poll of being tainted by violence and the absence of materials and officials in certain wards.

Supporters of a few of the candidates also staged a demonstration on Sunday at the APC headquarters in Akure, calling for the exercise to be called off.

Mr. Isaac Kekemeke, Mr. Olusoji Ehinlanwo, Mr. Olugbenga Edema, Sen. Jimoh Ibrahim, Mr. Diran Iyantan, Prof. Dayo Faduyile, and Mr. Ifeoluwa Oyedele are among the other candidates who took part in the primary.

Judith Omogoroye, Mr. Jimi Odimayo, Mr. Olusola Oke, Mr. Ohunyeye Felix, Mrs. Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo, and Mr. Adewale Akinterinwa are the others. (NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.